Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 1st, 2008

Let’s get through the top stress inducing badness thingys, and get on to something more fun blog. 

 

First, M. is still in New Orleans, and he’s even had his picture taken by Army Life magazine for their online story in a few days (by then I may not have electricity, of course…Will also swears he saw him on camera during a news cast yesterday, but M. said he didn’t notice any tv crews…M.’s usually oblivious though).  He’s safe and keeping in cellphone contact.  Here, we’re just starting to see the rain starting a few minutes ago.  Pascal has been shaved and all my air conditioners are staying on indefinitely (it’s the heat and humidity when you can’t even open the windows because it’s still raining that’s the real downer when the electricity goes out).  The wind is really picking up, but it sounds like the rain is going to be the biggest problem (10-15 inches is projected here at the tip of the hurricane’s path before Gustav hits Texas…it’s still right over our house).  The last time we got rain like that I was 12, and the creek behind the house got so high that it took over the chicken coop.  That was when Will was conceived (Dad had been gone so much hunting at night and working most of the day that Mom knew exactly when Will came along…the rain was all that kept Dad home lol).  Unfortunately, if we get the same thing, my house will have water at its foundation!  Luckily, the ghetto trailer is up on blocks.  So, as long as the ground doesn’t get so soft that the trailer slides off onto the ground, I should be good.  And, yes, I am staying in the trailer during the storm.  I’m used to it, and the way the trailer is positioned, I’ve got some natural protection from winds.  Sure, trailers are in more danger for damage, but they also tend to fall apart easily so you can escape.  Do you enjoy my crackpot theories?  I do.  🙂

 

The second stress is once again my uterus (well…of course it is!  we’d probably faint if it wasn’t).  I’ll quickly break it down for you because even I’m tired of talking/thinking about it.  As I said in my last post on the subject, the ovulation predictor test went a bit haywire meaning that there is little or no chance that we hit the right moment.  Then came August 27 when I started spotting lightly (approximately 12 days post haywire).  I got ready for Auntie to be about 3 days early, and wasn’t really upset by it since I knew it was nearly impossible that we’d conceived.  Here’s where Auntie decided to get tricky.  At the start of Day 3, I was still barely spotting, and usually by Day 2 I’m pulling out the Super Twins (super tampons and pads…if ya don’t get my drift).  I took a negative pregnancy test, but decided that unless Auntie got with the flow (ha!  I pun!) I wouldn’t use the Clomid (M.’s gone and at the time we had no idea for how long since there was another hurricane behind Gustav…and I’ve not yet replenished my ovulation testers).  Then, Auntie stopped altogether.  Two and a half days of light spotting was all I got.  In fact, I didn’t even get any PMS symptoms of any kind and still haven’t (or pregnancy symptoms since they’re basically the same thing) other than twinges in the ovary and uterus areas and a couple of cravings for fruit which amounts to absolutely nothing.  I took another test today, a day or so past my usual Auntie day, and the test is still negative.  Again, magically, I’m not upset.  I’ll wait around a week and take another test, but if I get more negatives, I may have to try to get to a doctor (there’s a danger of an ovarian cyst).  I have no idea if I can afford it or if one will even be available because of the hurricane and the influx of refugees.  We’ll see.  It would have been kind of cool to get a positive today, and call M. in the heat of Gustav with the best news ever.  But, my life is never that cool.  My big announcements usually end up being very quietly accepted with no fanfare.  Oh well, no biggie.

 

Now for some GOOD NEWS!  One reason Auntie may have been so flummoxed (other than the wicked Clomid just trying to work in the last pregnancy symptom that I hadn’t experienced to screw with me) is that I’ve lost 6-8lbs since the 16th (depending which scale you believe)!  That’s pretty great considering I’ve cheated my ass off!  lol  I’ve cheated every single day I think, but I’ve been careful to do it on an empty stomach and wait a couple of hours before I eat again.  So, I’m really pleased.  I also have been feeling healthier while downing my baby carrots.

 

I’ve also got the pics of Tina in the bustier, but I’ve got to load them and reduce them before I can put them up.  So, if I’ve got electricity tomorrow, you’re in for a treat (I’m talking mostly to Ron, of course  😉 )!  I’ll probably also write a review for the Palahniuk book “Diary”.  So, hopefully, more interesting posts to come.

Read Full Post »